Cricket: Gayle breaks silence on WICB treatment

Editor’s note: This is a statement by Chris Gayle, the former captain of the West Indian cricket team, in relation to his ongoing conflict with the Wast Indian Cricket Board of Control (WICB).  Chris Gayle was not selected for the recent Pakistan tour or the present Indian tour to the West Indies.  Please go to www.cricinfo.com for information on the  present matches between the West Indies and India. 

Gayle , now 31, recently top-scored in the Indian Cricket League IPL,  playing for the Bangalore Royal Challengers.  It was announced on June 1 that Gayle will play for the Sydney Thunder in the upcoming 8-team Australian Twenty-20 Tournament.  Read the announcement regarding the Australian T20 here. 

Here is Chris Gayle’s statement regarding the WICB:

(WIPA) I, Christopher Henry Gayle, am making this statement so that all my friends, fans and followers who continue to wonder why I am not being picked for the West Indies team despite being fit, available and in form will know the truth considering the many rumours and statements that have been made as it relates to this issue. Until now, I have kept my silence, but I believe that the time has come for you to all know what I plan to do about this extremely frustrating and humiliating situation.

Ever since I was a little boy growing upin Rollington Town, and living in the shadow of Sabina Park I had two dreams.  The first was to play for Jamaica and the second to play for the West Indies.  Fortunately, and thanks to the Almighty, I have been able to achieve both of them.  I have been Captain of both Jamaica and of the West Indies, and have worn both uniforms with pride and served with distinction.

I find it really painful now to hear that I did not give my best or that I lost my commitment to the cause of West Indies Cricket.  This is not true.  I have always given my all.  I have always played with my heart and soul.  I am not a boastful person.  I normally don’t speak until I have to.  I try not to show in my face what is in my heart but now my heart is heavy.  I have played with injuries.  I have played with pain.  But nothing in my life has been more painful and more injurious to my spirit than what has been done to me in the past few months.  Nothing.   more

Read whole statement here:  Gayle breaks silence on WICB treatment

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Egerton Mc Laren  On July 6, 2011 at 4:47 am

    The WICB is a law unto themselves,selfish and stupid people who really do not have West Indies cricket at heart. They are more interested in showing who is the boss.They enter into conflict after conflict with the players, in the meantime the game is suffering, the supporters are staying away and the cricketers who have to earn a living have to look elsewhere

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,826 other followers

