Guyana: National Awards List – 2011

The 2011 awardees are as follows:

Order of Excellence (OE) – Guyana’s highest National Award Prime Minister Samuel Hinds

Cacique Crown of Honour (CCH)

Bank of Guyana Governor, Lawrence Williams; Chief Statistician, Lennox Benjamin; Donna Yearwood; Clyde Roopchand; Acting Chief Justice, Ian Chang; GRA Commissioner-General, Khurshid Sattaur; Professors Nigel Harris and Clement Sankat; Malcolm Parris; Phillip Moore; Miles Fitzpatrick; and Clinton Collymore.                     

Order of Roraima
Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Charles Ramson
Chancellor of the Judiciary, Carl Singh

Golden Arrow of Achievement (AA)

Dr. Edward Green of CARICOM; Dr. Cyril Solomon; former Ambassador to Suriname, Karshanjee Arjun; Thakur Danny Doobay; Brentnol Evans; Ambassador Elisabeth Harper; Brian Tiwari; Courtney Benn; Captain Gerald Gouveia; Deo Persaud; Alfro Alphonso; Chunilall Baboolall; Sean Hopkinson; Edmond Vieira; Glen Khan; Aubrey Stephenson; Professor David Dabydeen; Dunstan Barrow; Carvil Duncan; Dr. Arlington Chesney; and Swami Vidyanand.

Medal of Service (MS)

Yvonne Hinds; Dorothy Faria; Diane Ferreira James; Nicolette Fernandes; Victor Ferreira; Winslow Craig; Ameena Gafoor; Stephanie Fraser; Don Gomes; Hugh Ross; Michael Charles, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Dr. Vindhya Persaud, James Wren Gilkes, June Griffith, Aliann Pompey, Andrew Lewis, Michael Parris, Elfrieda Bissember, Frank Woon-a-Tai, Paloma Mohamed, Phillip Gajedhar, Al Creighton, Egbert Carter, Shirley Edwards, Parbhu Dyal Sattan, Yvonne Pearson, Bishop Juan Edghill, George Subraj, Ramnarine Ramroop, Indra Chandarpal, Randy Choo-She-Nam, Derek Williams, Vibert de Souza, Reuben Gilbert, Aleema Nasir, Gharpaul Persaud, John Palmer, Jenny Ribeiro, Irene Wilson, Pooran Persaud, Joycelyn Anderson, Desiree Wyles-Ogle, Yvonne Raghoo, Mohandatt Goolsarran, Juliet Persico, Dr. Faye Clarke, Ann Greene, Ulric Donald Jacobs, Mohamed Osman Ali, Wilfred Success, Yvonne Hercules, Maydha Persaud, Deeneshwar Persaud, Monica-Fraser Carmichael, Ramdat Nandkishore, Colleen Anderson, Marva Hawker, Dr. Holly Alexander, Panday Persaud, Cedric Smith, Richard Verbeke, Ramsahai Ramnarine (Hardat), Ramesh Ramlakhan, David Mangra and Keith Emmanuel Crawford.

Group Awards for the Medal of Service (MS)

Help and Shelter, Food for the Poor, Sisters of Mercy, the Guyana Relief Council, the Salvation Army Guyana Division, Phoenix Recovery, Mothers in Black, the National Library, the Guyana Women’s Artists Association, President’s Youth Award Republic of Guyana, Kashif and Shanghai and the Indian Cultural and Social Organisation of West Demerara.

Military Honours

Commodore Gary Best received the Military Service Star (MSS), while Colonel Bruce Lovell was accorded the Military Service Medal (MSM), along with Colonel Mark Phillips, Captain John Flores, Captain George Lewis, Lieutenant Colonel Francis Abraham, Commander Godfrey George, Lieutenant Colonel Windee Algernon, Lieutenant Colonel Khemraj Persaud and Lieutenant Colonel Enoch Gaskin.

Commissioner of the Guyana Police Force (GPF), Henry Greene received the Disciplined Services Star (DSS), while Assistant Commissioners Leroy Brummel, Seelall Persaud, Gavin Primo and George Vyphius, along with Chief Fire Officer Marlon Gentle and Senior Superintendent of Prisons, Colin Howard received the Disciplined Services Medal (DSM).

Posthumous Awards

Additionally, two awards were posthumously conferred on the late Dr. Desrey Ceasar-Fox and former Agriculture Minister, Satyadeow Sawh.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.


  • Penny  On October 24, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Congrats to my cousin Faye Clarke…what an outstanding achievement…coming from your relatives in the British Virgin Islands…you go girls…go get them tiger!!!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: