On FATHER’S DAY – A song of Praise to Mom & Dad – Chris Prashad

On FATHER’S DAY – A song of Praise to Mom & Dad – Chris Prashad

fatherPublished on May 4, 2016
Too often we forget those whose Love & sacrifice pushed us up every round of the ladder of success. This song is a Tribute to all Mothers and Fathers (not only for Mothers’ & Fathers’ Day, but always).  This song is also a dedication to all who go out of their way to help others in times of need. Please share the love.   

This song is a reflection of my life growing up on the Essequibo Coast of Guyana.

Being the eldest of 12 siblings it was indeed very difficult to get by without help from others and this song recognizes their contributions and influences as I grew up facing all the challenges of being poor. My parents did all they possibly could with much sacrifice to get me where I am today.

This song is a dedication to their unselfish love for all their children. I am sure that many of you can relate to this experience also.

At a very young age I had to help my parents take care of the family working at dangerous jobs on weekends with my Dad to put bread on the table. I attended school bare-feet until I was 15. I wore just one set of clothes for the whole school year. I had no text books. Could not afford any so I borrowed from my willing friends, studied in the nights using just a hurricane lantern under a mosquito net.

I became a teacher at age 17 in 1963 having passed all the required tough examinations. I served my country in that capacity and as Head of school for over 28 years. Please read the BIO page on www.kiskadeemusic.com for more details of my life and then you’ll understand how much this song means to me and my family. Look out for more great songs to come out soon and thanks for sharing. Much respect to all of you.

Lyrics: PRAISE TO MY MOM AND DAD

I was born in poverty; my father had no property,
No money to build us a home.
Everybody laughed at me; the patches were all over me,
No shoes on my feet when I roamed.
My mother tried to comfort me, she sacrificed her all for me,
To make me what I am today;
My Daddy did the same for me, and now they’re so proud of me
I feel so happy today..

Chorus verse:

So now I sing this song of praise to my Mom and Dad.
God Bless them for all they have been.
They made me understand that life is worth living,
Though great are the troubles unseen.
All those who mocked at me and laughed at my misery,
I pray, God, forgive them their wrongs.
Somehow I pity them, O dear Lord, encourage them
To face life the way it should be.

Now I’m so happy, my sweet-heart beside me,
Brothers and sisters to love.
Praise to my Saviour, who reigneth beyond
The moon and stars up above.
Praise to my mother, my father, my teachers,
My friends who have helped me along.
Bless them O Lord so they may be able
To see what is right from wrong.

Chorus verse:

So now I sing this song of praise to my Mom and Dad.
God Bless them for all they have been.
They made me understand that life is worth living,
Though great are the troubles unseen.
All those who mocked at me and laughed at my misery,
I pray, God, forgive them their wrongs.
Somehow I pity them, O dear Lord, encourage them
To face life the way it should be.

Written and set to music by Chrisnah Prashad, May 1980.
© Chrisnah Prashad May 2016 – All rights reserved

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

