US election 2016: America’s front-porch revolt – Trump elected – BBC News

US election 2016: America’s front-porch revolt

Trump supporters hold up signs

Few, apart from his supporters, expected the surge in support for Donald Trump

Nobody saw it coming. I didn’t, and as a conservative who lives in deep red America, I don’t even have the excuse of being a coastal urbanite cut off from the wilds of Trumpistan.     

Maybe I didn’t see it coming because I put too much faith in polls. Maybe I didn’t see it coming because I spend too much time reading and listening to the media, and not enough time on my mom’s front porch. And maybe I didn’t see it coming because even though I generally favour Trump’s nationalistic, populist vision, I could not imagine that voters would trust a man as reckless and as volatile as he with the presidency.    [Read more]

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

