My New Year (2017) – By Leonard Dabydeen

My New Year (2017)  By Leonard DabydeenI pick up my rug
at the door
dust it in the wind
outside on the balcony
I let cold winter wind
drift grains of sand
and dust from footprints
into empty open air   
it is chilly tonight
I could feel the wind
nipping at my bones
but I badly
want to do this
just to keep the rug
ready for the new year
knowing in a spectrum
of twilight
this colourful old year
will soon be gone
all the memory
that comes in
and goes out
through my front door
will be archived
just like the Christmas tree
with its glow of jingle bells
and pin-ups of ho-ho-ho Santa
and his reindeer
I’ll keep both eyes
peeled open in joy
at new boots and shoes
entering my door again
bringing happiness to my home
my castle of my bones
as the new year rolls over
and lights from street lamps
dimmer at the bright dawn
of a new beginning
an enigma of tomorrow
I welcome
with open arms
and a heart
full of joy.
Thank you.Best regards,

Leonard

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • needybad4u  On January 4, 2017 at 12:33 am

    Thanks for posting My New Year (2017) poem, Cyril Bryan. Wishing you, and all our contributors and friends on Guyanese Online, a HAPPY, PROSPEROUS and PRODUCTIVE 2017.
    ~ Leonard

  • tulsiedas402sqn@Gmail. com  On January 4, 2017 at 5:31 am

    Thanks Leonard and a very Happy New Year to you. Jah.

Leave a Reply

