Guyana – MY HEART GRIEVES FOR THEE – By Yvonne Sam

Guyana – MY HEART GRIEVES FOR THEE

Yvonne Sam

By Yvonne Sam

My heart grieves for the country that I was born and raised in; the country I love.

It is so hard to sit back and look, and not be grieved at what is happening in the country that claims to be founded as a God-fearing nation.

My heart grieves at the continuous, self-inflicted violence and murder that we see daily.

My heart grieves for the trend of authoritarianism that is once again raising its head in Guyana?

My heart grieves at the way we continue to overlook and ignore certain issues in our   community, such as mental illness, incest and abuse, which negatively impact so many.  

My heart grieves for many of my people who have been caught up in the legal system because of draconian laws that target a specific set of citizens.

My heart grieves at the manner in which drugs and guns have infiltrated our communities without exception.

My heart grieves at the males, who continue to treat our women as if they are nothing and behave as if it was normal.

My heart grieves for the young women who have been and forced into a life of human trafficking and prostitution by manipulative and abusive pimps.

My heart grieves for the young women who are not even capable of caring for themselves and are faced with caring for a yet unborn.

My heart grieves for women “the fairer sex” who have now become the “darer sex” .

My heart grieves for the increase in sexual deviancy and pedophilia.

My heart grieves for the majority of the youths who have shun academics and guidance and are instead blazing a trail towards the penal system.

My heart grieves at the manner in which many of the churches which have always been seen as a beacon of light in the midst of darkness have fallen short of preaching their views in the pews.

My heart grieves at the number of people who have been swallowed up by the existing abyss of despair and who have become casualties of hopelessness.

My heart grieves at the negative manner in which certain groups of people are treated.

My heart grieves at the injustices in the judicial system, and corrupt practices in law enforcement.

My heart grieves for the battle that education is facing in Guyana.

My heart grieves at the way families have turned their backs on one another for frivolous reasons.

My heart grieves for the mothers who instead of being helped have their children taken away from them by the courts, only because they didn’t have the resources to fight the system.

My heart grieves for the senior citizens and disabled persons, who have been targets of crime.

My heart grieves at the way many of our elected officials put selfish greed and pride above doing the right thing for the constituents and the country by extension.

A change is no longer gonna come it has got to come. A time comes when we must openly speak out about injustices and wrongdoings, and whenever we see people hurting and desperately in need of assistance. Nevertheless although my heart grieves at the things that are going on in my beloved country Guyana, I remain optimistic that brighter days are ahead.

I believe in God and until the brighter days come, it is my fervent hope that your heart grieves just as mine does

Until those brighter days come and hopefully it looms on the horizon soon, it is my fervent hope that your heart grieves as mine does, and that you will join me in seeking to find ways to make a difference in the lives of the people who need it.

Yvonne Sam.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Reggie Chee a tow  On April 27, 2017 at 1:44 pm

    Ease your grieving heart and let us all do something.Just lanenting will not solve anything.Offer a solution please.

    • Mango chutney  On April 27, 2017 at 1:57 pm

      There is no Solution for a backward country who treat the poor and illiterate as scum and young girls going with ugly fat bald toothless old men who come to Guyana from the USA and London for money so that they can feed their extended family. Pretty disgraceful third world country.

  • Walter Petrie  On April 27, 2017 at 2:14 pm

    Really …Mango chutney? What an idiotic and unhelpful comment!

  • Hermina  On April 28, 2017 at 3:09 am

    Reggie if you are a true down to earth Guyanese, and I hope you are and have been following the writings of our illustrious native, you would not write in such a manner. In all her writings be it Stabroek News or Kaieteur News, as well as Canadian newspapers e. g Montreal Gazette, Pride News etc. you will find that , she always give what she thinks would be an appropriate solution to the problem.
    Do you have a solution? Why not voice it to the appropriate authorities.
    By the way did you notice that Ms. Sam called on the Guyanese people to join her in finding solutions. There you go? Lament on that one.

    • Mango chutney  On April 28, 2017 at 5:41 am

      I am not going to apologise for my comment. Poverty is everywhere in guyana with expensive bills and no proper wages . There are beautiful young women who are from dysfunctional families and can’t feed themselves but are with mashed up old married men who are nobodies from the country they reside in flashing their cash to these desperate women

  • Albert  On April 28, 2017 at 10:40 am

    Chutney I would venture to say you need more exposure to the world. Just across the border in Venezuela there is poverty beyond imagination. Guyana has nothing like that. Take rich America: there are poor young women (white and black) in many states voluntarily offering their bodies to strangers on the street for any form of sex so they could buy something to eat. If you want to see immoral poverty look right here in America which has so much wealth.

    • Mango chutney  On April 28, 2017 at 11:11 am

      I am not interested in Venezuela and USA. You must be joking when you say that Guyana has no poverty . What planet are you from?

  • Albert  On April 28, 2017 at 11:18 am

    Yvonne are writing about Guyana or America. Those issues apply to both wealthy USA and poor Guyana. Maybe it’s a problem with western capitalist democracy where resources are unevenly divided.
    I bleed a bit every time I read about Guyana’s problems. The country has two major ethnic groups: one accumulating wealth by pocketing cash, both legally and illegally. The other looking to a God for miracles.

    • Mango chutney  On April 28, 2017 at 2:37 pm

      Yvonne is writing …. I am not sure why Guyanese talk and write like Jamaicans! !!

  • Hermina  On April 29, 2017 at 3:52 am

    Albert why ask the question if Yvonne are writing about Guyana or America. First line of correction use 3rd person singular with the subject he or she. Next isn’t the subject matter clearly identified in the letter? Please tell me what part of Ms. Sam’s writing alludes to America, or is so unclear that you need to request clarification.

    • Albert  On April 29, 2017 at 11:31 am

      OK Hermina, careless error on my part. We often type on these boards without reviewing carefully.

      As to the second point, one who has a little knowledge of the U.S. would readily notice what Yvonne wrote about applies to both countries.

      Secondly, since the article is posted on a blog visited largely by people with Guyanese connection, one could assume it is meant for this audience.

      Does that satisfy you Judge Hermina.

Leave a Reply

