Bill O’Reilly’s No-Win Zone! – By Dr. Dhanpaul Narine

Bill O’Reilly’s No-Win Zone! – By Dr. Dhanpaul Narine

Bill O’ Reilly

Bill O’ Reilly

He was described as the ‘most powerful name in news.’ The billboard said that ‘nobody moves this man’ but a scandal and a boycott by advertisers have reduced this titan to the sorry figure of an abuser.

Bill O’ Reilly was cocooned in a culture that disrespected women. This existed at Fox News for years. If O’Reilly wanted lessons on how to mistreat women he only had to look at his bosses. They took abuse to new heights and it did not matter whether it was the nanny slaving after the children or the female newscasters on the screens. They all suffered the ignominy of having to work in the ‘boys shop’ without complaining.   

When the news was released a terse one line said, ‘ the company and Bill O’Reilly have agreed that Bill O’Reilly will not be returning to the Fox News Channel.’ This decision was announced after the New York Times stated that Fox had settled five sexual harassment complaints against Bill O’Reilly, going back as far as 2012. The settlement could total $13 million. O’ Reilly, however, was a moneymaker. Fox could afford to pay settlement costs with the $446 million that O’Reilly brought in during the period 2014 to 2016.

Read more: Bill O_Reilly_s No-Win Zone – By Dr. Dhanpaul Narine

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Clyde Duncan  On May 6, 2017 at 5:50 am

    Thanks, Doc!

    Another insightful essay while we have Mothers’ on our minds this week.

  • Deen  On May 6, 2017 at 7:38 am

    Thanks Dr. Dhanpaul for another good and informative article. I like your line “Money takes precedence over morality,” but I’d also add that often power is given precedence over principles, morality and justice by suppressing and compromising the truth. Today, we are seeing a lot lot of this playing out in politics and the media. Women are so blatantly disrespected, abused and humiliated and people get away with it, especially those with money and power.

  • demerwater  On May 6, 2017 at 9:06 am

    “All you all did, was drive around the backdam and screw around with the women”. That is how someone (close to me) summed up my whole career in the sugar industry.
    Thank God, he was never in a position to do my “Annual Performance Review”.
    When I was 5 years old, I witnessed a man stab a woman to death along the alley east of Hogg St.
    I was commanded into silence by my elders.
    We all may have heard the calypso that proclaimed, “Bung up dey eye! Bruise up dey face! … and dey will love you eternally!”
    And, over the years, I have tried to reconcile those statements and imagery with Etwaria, my grandmother’s eldest sister.
    She smoked cigarettes, deftly made by rolling black tobacco in a ‘cigarette leaf’ paper; and with a withering look, she would cause grown men – grandfathers themselves – to wilt and retreat.
    Henry Hall, the Field Manager at Uitvlugt characteristically, when agitated enough to need a cigarette, would fail in his effort at rolling a cigarette; and toss it away in frustration.
    There was an ‘Etwaria’ in each generation; starting with the original; then my own mother in the next generation; and my sister in mine. We have to just pay attention. Look keenly around you and you will see them. They are closer to us than those ‘media motivators’ – who shall not be named here.
    I have often described my upbringing as a cadre of men with prods and whips, keeping me on the ‘straight and narrow’; and a group of women who held umbrellas over me – to protect me from harm – and make me understand that it was all for “my own good”.
    I can make out a good case for ‘the father figure’; indeed for male dominance in the context of the culture in which I grew up.
    It was the era of the radio being the only mass media.
    When men, husbands, fathers and sons worked hard and long.
    When women, wives, mothers and daughters worked hard and long.
    When roles were defined and deferred to, by such simple statements as.
    “Just wait till you daa-dee come home!”
    “Leh me talk wid me wife fuss”.
    I cannot excuse or condone the behavior of people like Bill O’ Reilly, Bill Cosby and Donald Trump. They are some of the ones that have been caught.
    I have this imagery of the tip of the iceberg.

  • Albert  On May 6, 2017 at 12:22 pm

    One of the proudest moments in my life is when I meet women in Guyana or the U.S., who worked under my supervision years ago, and they are happy to see me, and willing to take pictures with me and my wife.

    Having wrote that let me ask this question: do some women like to be abused?

    The female population is at least fifty percent in the USA. They should be able to control the national legislative power but they do not. Trump insults them by saying, to the effect, he “grasp them by their p….. ., they don’t object when you are a star”. I think at least 20 percent voted to elect him. Some by not voting allowed him to be elected. To booth he may not had even want the job as President.

    His VP voted to control their bodies by making abortion illegal yet they voted for him for governor of Indiana.

    Ladies show us why some women don’t like being abused.

  • Rosaliene Bacchus  On May 6, 2017 at 3:44 pm

    Dr. Narine, thanks for speaking out about sexual abuse and violence against women. I agree with you when you say: “Money usually takes precedence over morality; if the advertisers had stayed it is doubtful whether O’Reilley would have gone.” For the giant corporations, only their profits count. Women are very vulnerable in male-dominated organizations.

    In a male-dominated culture, women are forced to tolerate such abuse for their survival and that of their offspring. To say “NO” demands real courage. In my professional and private life, I’ve had to put up with lots of abuse from men who secured my future in their tight fists. I fought back and paid the price, every step of the way.

    In response to Albert’s last comment: Individuals, both male and female, who find sexual pleasure in physical abuse are sadomasochistic – outside the norm of general human behavior.

Leave a Reply

