Profile: Cedric Vernon Nunes: My First Headmaster! – By Dr. Dhanpaul Narine

Cedric Vernon Nunes: My First Headmaster!

Dr. Dhanpaul Narine

By Dr. Dhanpaul Narine

My first day at school was a royal affair. I sat on the shoulders of my Nana, or grandfather, and observed my tiny universe and it was beautiful. We lived in Sookoo Yard that was a series of logies or substandard housing stitched together by pieces of wood. Sookoo Yard was in Stelling Road, a street that bordered Tuschen and Vergenoegen. We were on our way to Vergenoegen Government School on that lovely Monday morning.

My legs dangled uncontrollably from Nana’s shoulders and the cramps meant that I needed time to find my feet before I entered the school building. There were children running in the playground while others played hopscotch or cricket. Nana let go of my hand as a teacher beckoned me to her room. The bell went and the children stood at attention.     

There was a song of being born in the land of the mighty Roraima and then it was down to work. Miss Cox, my teacher, was a tall woman with a charming smile and a gap in her front tooth; before long I was with a group of children that played all day long. I was happy to be in school. I played with imaginary cars and drew trees on my slate. After a month Miss Cox had presents for us that made us even happier.

Read more: Profile- Cedric Vernon Nunes – By Dr. Dhanpaul Narine

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Deen  On June 11, 2017 at 7:01 am

    Very captivating and moving story Dr. Narine. It reminded me very much of my own childhood. I remembered Cedric Nunes when he was campaigning and was a member of the PPP and was later Minister of Education. Interesting story and impressively written. I’m looking forward to reading more of your story. I suggest you consider writing your autobiography.

  • Rosaliene Bacchus  On June 11, 2017 at 6:47 pm

    An inspiring story of overcoming adversity in our journey through life and the people who guide us along the way.

  • Tata  On June 11, 2017 at 6:50 pm

    I’ve done a paper some years ago called “Looking Back” and Cedric Nunes was
    One of several persons who touched my early life. Since each experience is different, Mr Nunes was someone I feared. I remembered the 12 or 20 inch x 4 or 6 inch “pancake” that was his trademark “whip” he used when one is late for school.
    This 7ft or there about giant of a man- made “us” children fearful. Even the thought of being sent to his office when a problem arise, sent chills down the spine of any young girl. However, I guess his influence on my early years must have mounded me for the cut-throat world we are living in.

  • Brian West  On June 11, 2017 at 8:07 pm

    Dr. did you bring back a lot of memories. Not much different from mine.

  • ndtewarie  On June 12, 2017 at 12:54 pm

    TRIBUTE TO CEDRIC VERNON NUNES

    I’ve been fortunate to work with many headmasters
    Of all of them to me C V was the best of the boons
    Some were really decent educated loving gentlemen
    But none can compare with the late great C.V.Nunes
    A gentleman and a real scholar, a real father figure
    With his charming wife Mary of a French background
    They were a well liked couple in the A/R Community
    A good listener with a peace loving face so unfound
    Was attentive and adored by all his staff and teachers
    No task was too big for this Headmaster Mr Nunes
    He even challenged bullies who try to do us harm
    He had a quiet charming way of going about his duties
    And would never neglect even a new pupil teacher
    A man of wisdom he was like a Lord among his peers
    He practiced what he preached to one and all
    He was more than a Headmaster was a real pal
    Always humorous with a smile on his face
    He never was caught up about hate or race
    He was called for the covetous post as a Minister
    He went and was outstanding as Minister of Education
    A few weeks before he left he called all of us into his office
    There was not a dry eye even by teachers of the other party
    And during schools Broadcast he would send us a message
    “ Greetings to all the teachers and pupils of Anna Regina”
    We felt very proud and lucky that we knew this great man.

    Naraine Datt

  • Dhanpaul Narine  On June 17, 2017 at 12:07 am

    Thanks to all for their comments. Mr. Naraine Datt sums up nicely the great educator in Mr. Nunes. God bless C.V.

Leave a Reply

