“SEE MORE POETRY”: readings of poems by Arthur James Seymour – Georgetown Jan 12, 2014

“SEE MORE POETRY”: readings of some of the best poems by Arthur James Seymour.

This is to excite lovers of good poetry – especially the poetry of AJ Seymour.

On Sunday January 12, 2014, the National Library in Georgetown, Guyana, will stage “SEE MORE POETRY”, a programme of readings of some of the best poems by Arthur James Seymour.

It is to commemorate the Centenary of the birth of the celebrated Guyanese poet, who died 25 years ago on Christmas day, at age 75. Some of the best Readers will be on stage at the Theatre Guild’s Playhouse on Parade Street in Kingston, Georgetown, reading such poems as “Over Guyana, Clouds”, “Tomorrow Belongs to the People”, “Name Poem”, “Sun is a Shapely Fire”, “The Lover Speaks”, “There Runs a Dream” and many others.  

The readers will include Margaret Lawrence, Ian McDonald, Ron Robinson, Ras Michael, Rupert Roopnaraine, Rosamunde Addo, Derek Gomes, Russel Lancaster, Malcolm DeFreitas, Nazim Hussain and Francis Quamina Farrier among others.

The poems of AJ Seymour have been translated into many languages, including Spanish and French.

Read more on A. J Seymour here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A._J._Seymour

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Rosaliene Bacchus  On 12/13/2013 at 5:19 pm

    Sorry I can’t be there. Will poetry lovers have a chance to see/hear the performance by video?

  • Michelle Clough  On 03/30/2014 at 6:08 am

    I am urgently after a poem by A J Seymour about a piccaninny. My Aunty is dying in hospital and it is her favourite poem. She can’t speak and I wanted to read the poem to her. It starts with ‘I’m a little picaninny’. Please help

  • Patricia Elvis  On 07/08/2016 at 9:05 pm

    Where can I get a copy of Mr. Seymour’s poem. It begins like this. Fruit in a bowl full golden apples I can’t remember the rest of words. Use to be one of my favored poem. I recited it as a small child at Guyana town hall.

  • Jackie Coke  On 08/30/2018 at 6:14 pm

    I was 10 yrs old when I first heard of the poet A J Seymour. One of our classmates at the Christianburg School (Linden) was chosen to recite one oh his poems (Fruits In A Bowl) His rendition certainly tanterlised our tastebuds from start to finish. I would very much appreciate a copy. Thanks. J Coke nee Jones.

  • Patricia E Elvis  On 12/07/2020 at 8:47 am

    I Patricia Elvis , at age 10 I recited that poem my favorite, at city hall in front of many people. Fruit In A Bowl. Full golden apples. This is all I can remember, I am in my sixty now . Only if I can get a copy of that poem to share with my grandchildren.

Leave a comment